RSS Feed

Winners of the “I Like My Books Like I Like My Men” Contest

Winners of the “I Like My Books Like I Like My Men” Contest

Recently, I held a contest in which contestants chose an opening line about books or writing and filled in the blanks.  Examples I gave were  I like my books like I like my men – they keep me up all night.  Or, Writing is like a unicorn vomiting rainbows — magical, but messy as hell. Read more about the contest here.

Imagine that this unicorn is vomiting...

Imagine that this unicorn is vomiting…

AND NOW FOR THE WINNERS….

FIRST PLACE:  Jessie Benenson

I like my books like I like my men– banned in all fifty states. 

 

SECOND PLACE:  Allyson Ayers

I like my books like I like my nachos – I never want them to end.

Writing is like exercising – motivation to start is the hardest part.

(Be sure to check out Allyson’s hilarious Tumblr page!)

 

HONORABLE MENTIONS:  

I like my books like I like my men – thought-provoking, funny, and good in bed! 🙂Leigha Sochurek

Writing is like trying to watch a Youtube video on a bad internet connection. When it works, it’s great, but you spend ages staring at a screen with nothing happening at all.Daniel Wallace

(Be sure to check out Daniel’s fun and informative blog!)

 

Here I am in 2005 wearing this green sweater I've had since high school.

Congratulations, Everyone!

Jessie and Allyson both received prize-packs of reading material, stickers, and other fun items.  (Jessie got some Puss ‘n Boots temporary tattoos… aren’t you sorry you didn’t enter?)  Thanks to everyone who participated in the contest, and who knows, maybe I’ll have another one some day!

Advertisements

About evalangston

Eva Langston is a writer, among other things.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: