RSS Feed

The “I like my books like I like my men” CONTEST — Win books! Have fun!

The “I like my books like I like my men” CONTEST — Win books! Have fun!

*Check out my post on mistakes writers make on the Carve blog!*

 

THE FIRST EVER IN THE GARDEN OF EVA CONTEST!!

THE INSPIRATION:

My man and I sometimes go to Jet City Improv in Seattle, and this contest is based on one of our favorite line games. The way the game works is that a suggestion for an object is taken from the audience, like, say, “hamburger.” The improvising actors step forward one at a time and say things like…

“I like my men like I like my hamburgers – big and beefy with a nice pickle.”
or
“I like my women like I like my hamburgers – with hot buns.”

My man and me.

My man and me.

HOW IT WORKS:

My contest is similar. The way it works is this:  choose one of the openings below and fill in the blanks.

I like my books like I like my ______________ — explanation 

Writing is like __________ — explanation

Here are some examples:

I like my books like I like my men – they keep me up all night.

Writing is like a unicorn vomiting rainbows — magical, but messy as hell.

 

WHAT WILL I WIN?  

The top winner will get his/her choice of a helpful book about writing.  Either the 2014 Writer’s Market Deluxe Edition, or Writing & Selling the YA Novel by K.L. Going.  The second place winner will get whichever of those books the first place winner didn’t choose. And first, second, and third place winners will get their entries published here, on In the Garden of Eva.

Prizes -- helpful books about writing!

Prizes — helpful books about writing!

IMPORTANT DETAILS:  

Submit your entry below by AUGUST 27th, 2014.  (That’s right, people.  You only have 8 days to write one sentence, so you’d better get cracking.)  Give your name and email address, and type your entry in the comments section below.  You can enter as many times as you wish.  Good luck!  Get creative!

 

Advertisements

About evalangston

Eva Langston is a writer, among other things.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Winners of the “I Like My Books Like I Like My Men” Contest | In the Garden of Eva

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: